The Extraordinary Think And Do (TANDO) Tank
Dale E. Klein (1989)
chemical & biological defense
heat transfer
nuclear energy
thermal hydraulics

Dr. Dale E. Klein is the Reese Endowed Professor in Engineering at the Cockrell School of Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin. Klein rejoined The University of Texas System in January of 2011 as associate vice chancellor for research in the office of academic affairs. In April of 2010, after serving eight and a half years as a presidential appointee, Dr. Klein returned to Texas from Washington, DC, working at The University of Texas at Austin as the associate director of The Energy Institute, associate vice president for research, and professor of mechanical engineering (nuclear program). Dr. Klein was sworn into the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission in 2006, and was appointed chairman by President George W. Bush, serving in that role from July 2006 to May 2009. Before joining the NRC, Dr. Klein served as the assistant to the secretary of defense for nuclear, chemical and biological defense programs. He was appointed to this position by President George W. Bush and confirmed by the Senate in 2001. Previously, Dr. Klein served as the vice chancellor for special engineering programs at the University of Texas System and as a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering (Nuclear Program) at The University of Texas at Austin. During his tenure at the university, Dr. Klein was director of the Nuclear Engineering Teaching Laboratory, deputy director of the Center for Energy Studies, and associate dean for research and administration in the College of Engineering.  In addition, Dr. Klein serves as the Chairman of the Nuclear Reform Monitoring Committee for TEPCO after the Fukishima accident as well as on the Committee for Nuclear Power in the UAE.

Honors and awards Dr. Klein has received include Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the American Nuclear Society, Engineer of the Year for the State of Texas, the University of Missouri Faculty-Alumni Award, and the University of Missouri Honor Award for Distinguished Service in Engineering. A native of Missouri, Dr. Klein holds a doctorate in nuclear engineering from the University of Missouri-Columbia. He has published more than 100 technical papers and reports, and co-edited one book. He has made more than 400 presentations on energy and has written numerous technical editorials on energy issues that have been published in major newspapers throughout the United States.

All Fellows
Mohan Nair
Steven T. Walsh
Nathan “Nth” Bar-Fields
Sahil Gupta
T.W. Kang
David Wimberly
Russell Kalmacoff
Ruzanna Tarverdyan
Finn Kydland
Manuel Heitor
Paul M. Joyal
Keenan D. Grenell
John Sibley Butler (1989)
Art Markman (2005)
John N. Doggett (1989)
Ning Zhang
Deog-Seong Oh
Sten Thore (1983) *Fellow Emeritus
Tim Raines
Nikhil Agarwal
Contact TANDO for recommending and booking keynote speakers, interview guests, or panelists for your event.
© 2024 TANDO. All rights reserved. TANDO is a non-profit corporation.