The Extraordinary Think And Do (TANDO) Tank
John Sibley Butler (1989)
new venture development
organizational science
research methods & data analysis

John Sibley Butler directed the IC² Institute 2002 to 2013, and continues to serve as founding director of the Herb Kelleher Center for Entrepreneurship at The University of Texas at Austin. He is a professor in the Department of Management at the Red McCombs School of Business, the Department of Sociology with the College of Liberal Arts, and the Center for African and African American Studies in the College of Liberal Arts. His research areas are organizational science, with special emphasis on military and entrepreneurial organizations. His articles appear in diverse journals, including the American Sociological Review, Social Science Quarterly, Sociological Perspectives, Journal of Business Research and Journal of Developmental Entrepreneurship. His books include Global Perspectives on Technology Transfer and Commercialization (with David Gibson), The Development of University-Based Entrepreneurship Eco-Systems (with Fetters, Greene and Rice), All That We Can Be (with Charles C. Moskos and winner of the Washington Monthly Book Award), Immigrant and Minority Entrepreneurship (with George Kozmetsky), and Entrepreneurship, Self-Help Among Black Americans, and An American Story: Entrepreneurship and Wealth Creation among Mexican Americans. His recent awards include The LSU Alumnus of the Year Award (2012), The Heman Marion Sweatt Legacy Award (UT Austin), The Technology Innovation Special Achievement Award (Austin Business Journal), the 2010 Champions of Small Business Award (NCFC), Booker T. Washington Award for his efforts in the area of new venture creation and business start-ups, and The PhD Project Award. He was appointed to the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board by President George W. Bush and is a decorated Vietnam veteran. He was the regional consultant for State Farm Insurance for 16 years. Dr. Butler received his undergraduate degree from Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge and his PhD from Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois.

Related Publications
All Fellows
Mohan Nair
Steven T. Walsh
Nathan “Nth” Bar-Fields
Sahil Gupta
T.W. Kang
David Wimberly
Russell Kalmacoff
Ruzanna Tarverdyan
Finn Kydland
Manuel Heitor
Paul M. Joyal
Keenan D. Grenell
John Sibley Butler (1989)
Art Markman (2005)
John N. Doggett (1989)
Ning Zhang
Deog-Seong Oh
Sten Thore (1983) *Fellow Emeritus
Tim Raines
Nikhil Agarwal
Contact TANDO for recommending and booking keynote speakers, interview guests, or panelists for your event.
© 2024 TANDO. All rights reserved. TANDO is a non-profit corporation.