The Extraordinary Think And Do (TANDO) Tank
Humboldt C. Mandell Jr. (1997)
cost analysis
cultural change
large program management
systems engineering

Dr. Mandell is currently a research fellow at the University of Texas Center for Space Research, where he mentors engineering students, writes, presents technical papers, and lectures on spacecraft design and cost analysis. He is retired after 40 years with the NASA Johnson Space Center, where he was program control manager, deputy manager, and then manager of the Exploration Programs Office (EXPO). Earlier in his career, he was a leader on the space shuttle and space station design teams, served as resources manager of the space shuttle program, and program control manager for the space station Freedom program. From 1994 through 1996, he served with the Office of the Governor of Texas, and organized the first Texas Space Summit. He has published numerous papers, articles, a book, and several book chapters on Mars exploration and cultural change in large organizations. Other activities and awards include Distinguished Engineering Graduate of The University of Texas at Austin, and president, University of Texas Ex-Students’ Association. He is an associate fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. Dr. Mandell received the two highest awards of the cost analysis profession. He was (the first) recipient of the William S. Rutledge Excellence Award, and the Freiman Award for Lifetime Contributions to Parametrics of the International Society of Parametric Analysts (for leadership in developing cost analysis methods for NASA). He twice received the NASA Exceptional Service Medal. He is married to Sally Cowper Sheppard Mandell, has three grown daughters, and four grandchildren.

All Fellows
Kaisa Still
Liz Brailsford
Shunsuke Managi
Manhar Singh
Sharif Uddin Ahmed Rana
Mohan Nair
Steven T. Walsh
Nathan “Nth” Bar-Fields
Sahil Gupta
T.W. Kang
David Wimberly
Russell Kalmacoff
Ruzanna Tarverdyan
Finn Kydland
Manuel Heitor
Paul M. Joyal
Keenan D. Grenell
John Sibley Butler (1989)
Art Markman (2005)
John N. Doggett (1989)
Contact TANDO for recommending and booking keynote speakers, interview guests, or panelists for your event.
© 2024 TANDO. All rights reserved. TANDO is a non-profit corporation.