The Extraordinary Think And Do (TANDO) Tank
Atila Ertas (1998)
complex system design
process development

Dr. A. Ertas, ​professor of ​mechanical ​engineering and ​director of the ​Transdisciplinary​ ​PhD Program on ​Design, Process,​ and Systems, ​received his ​masters and PhD ​from Texas A&M ​University. He ​had 12 years of ​industrial ​experience ​prior to ​pursuing ​graduate ​studies. Dr. ​Ertas has been ​the driving ​force behind ​the conception ​and the ​development of ​the transdisciplinary​ ​model for ​education and ​research. His ​pioneering ​efforts in ​transdisciplinary​ ​research and ​education have ​been recognized ​internationally ​by several ​awards. ​

He is a fellow ​of the American ​Society of ​Mechanical ​Engineers (ASME)​ and the ​Society for ​Design and ​Process Science ​(SDPS). He is ​also an ​honorary member ​of International ​Center for ​Transdisciplinary​ ​Research (CIRET)​, France. Dr. ​Ertas has ​earned both ​national and ​international ​reputation in ​engineering ​design. Dr. ​Ertas published ​four books: A. ​Ertas and J. C. ​Jones, ​ The ​Engineering ​Design Process, ​ Wiley & Sons, ​1st edition ​1993 and 2nd ​edition 1996; A.​ Ertas, ​ Prevention through Design (PtD): Transdisciplinary Process , (funding ​for this ​research was ​provided by the ​National ​Institute for ​Occupational ​Safety and ​Health), 2010; ​A. Ertas, ​ Engineering ​Mechanics and ​Design ​Applications: ​Transdisciplinary​ ​Engineering ​Fundamentals, ​ Taylor & ​Francis, CRC ​Press, 2011; A. ​Ertas (editor), ​ Transdisciplinarity​:​ Bridging ​Natural Science,​ Social Science,​ Humanities & ​Engineering, ​ ATLAS, 2011) ​and edited more ​than 35 ​conference ​proceedings. He ​has also ​organized more ​than 30 ​international ​conferences ​within ASME, ​IEEE, SDPS and ​ATLAS. ​

Dr. Ertas’​ contributions ​to teaching and ​research have ​been recognized ​by numerous ​honors and ​awards. He has ​published more ​than 150 ​scientific ​papers that ​cover many ​engineering ​technical ​fields. He has ​been principal ​investigator or ​co-principal ​investigator on ​more than 40 ​funded research ​projects. Under ​his supervision ​more than 170 ​MS and PhD ​graduate ​students have ​received ​degrees.​

Related Publications
All Fellows
Mohan Nair
Steven T. Walsh
Nathan “Nth” Bar-Fields
Sahil Gupta
T.W. Kang
David Wimberly
Russell Kalmacoff
Ruzanna Tarverdyan
Finn Kydland
Manuel Heitor
Paul M. Joyal
Keenan D. Grenell
John Sibley Butler (1989)
Art Markman (2005)
John N. Doggett (1989)
Ning Zhang
Deog-Seong Oh
Sten Thore (1983) *Fellow Emeritus
Tim Raines
Nikhil Agarwal
Contact TANDO for recommending and booking keynote speakers, interview guests, or panelists for your event.
© 2024 TANDO. All rights reserved. TANDO is a non-profit corporation.